Golf, perhaps more so than any other sport, has a variety of unwritten rules that can be difficult to interpret and enforce. A failure to adhere to this esoteric code can leave you in a situation where your playing partners or competitors are accusing you of poor sportsmanship.
During the Solheim Cup on Sunday the European's found themselves in such a situation. After America's Alison Lee picked up a putt she believed to have been conceded, things turned a little ugly when Europe were awarded the hole. Who was right and who was wrong?
It's such a difficult call to make and one I'm sure none of us would have felt comfortable making under such intense pressure. Do you go by the letter of the law or the more arbitrary standards of sportsmanship and fair play? There can be numerous instances of such a situation during every round you play and knowing what's the right or wrong thing to do can be tough, especially if you're playing with an inexperienced golfer.
What do you think? Perhaps we should do away with gimmes full stop? Click here to let me know your thoughts.